Seventeen Members: Everything to Know

Seventeen Members: Everything to Know

Written by Ramsay, In General, Published On
December 15, 2022

PLEDIS Entertainment put together the South Korean boy band with seventeen members (part of Hybe Labels). Even though they are called Seventeen, they have 13 members:

  • S. Coups
  • Wonwoo
  • Mingyu
  • Vernon (hip-hop sub-unit)
  • Woozi
  • Jeonghan
  • Joshua
  • DK
  • Seungkwan (vocal sub-unit)
  • Hoshi
  • Jun
  • The8
  • Dino (performance sub-unit)

Seventeen first came out with the mini album 17 Carat on May 26, 2015.

Members Of The Team

Seventeen members are made up of thirteen people who were all born between 1995 and 1999. Their names are S. Coups, Wonwoo, Mingyu, Vernon, Woozi, Jeonghan, Joshua, DK, Seungkwan, Hoshi, Jun, The8, and Dino. S. Coups is the eldest member (born August 8, 1995). When he came out with Seventeen, he was 19 years old. Dino is the maknae (youngest) of the group (born February 11, 1999). At the time Seventeen came out, he was 15 years old. There are 4 people from outside of Korea in Seventeen, and 9 Koreans. Joshua Hong, who is from Los Angeles, and Hansol Vernon Chwe are both from the United States (New York). Jun and The8 are both Chinese and are part of the group.

Why do they go by the name of seventeen members?

The number of seventeen members is the sum of the 13 people in the group, the three smaller groups they make, and the one team they make when they all get together. Most songs are three to four minutes long, so it’s hard for each member to show off their skills when there are 13 of them. The sub-group system used by SEVENTEEN helps solve this problem. The hip-hop unit is made up of S. Coups, Wonwoo, Mingyu, and Vernon. The vocal unit is made up of Woozi, Jeonghan, Joshua, DK, and Seungkwan.

Since 2015, the members have recorded songs for most of their albums both as a whole group and in these smaller groups. Artists are often put together in different groups, like the “Leaders” unit, which is made up of the leaders of the three subgroups, and the “BSS” unit, which is made up of the comedic trio Seungkwan, DK, and Hoshi.

What makes Seventeen different from other groups?

Seventeen Members
Image Credit –

Since its start, seventeen members have been promoting themselves as a group that makes its own music. This doesn’t mean that the group’s members come up with all of their own songs, though, since they have often credited the producers and choreographers with whom they work closely. Still, it is rare for K-pop acts to be so involved in the direction of every album and performance, especially from the beginning. In 2015, the group’s first mini album, 17 Carat, had five songs. Vocalist Woozi helped write all of them, and Hoshi helped choreograph “Shining Diamond” and “Adore U.” Since then, both members have continued to be at the top of their fields.

Journey of seventeen members

Over the past five years, Woozi and PLEDIS’s in-house producer Bumzu have written most of Seventeen’s songs together. Woozi also takes charge of the recording studio. Other members often help make the music, and the four rappers on the hip-hop team write the lyrics for the songs their sub-unit makes. By 2017, everyone in Seventeen had written something. Hoshi has co-choreographed most of SEVENTEEN’s title tracks so far, but the other three members of the performance team often make choreography for their sub-song units and other projects.

Seventeen members are also different because it is bigger than most other Korean idol groups. Through the way the act is set up in performances, the size makes it possible to tell stories visually.

In the new song “My My,” the artists’ moves make it look like the main singer, Seungkwan, is on a boat in the middle of a crashing sea. In the 2017 hit song “Don’t Wanna Cry,” their placement makes it sound like two of them are walking under street lights.

Smaller groups would have a hard time or not be able to do these scenes at all. Even though there are a lot of them, Seventeen is known as one of the most in-sync K-pop groups. In the “Don’t Wanna Cry” choreography video, for example, all of the members dance with a lot of precision and almost perfect timing.

Who is in the seventeen members unit?

Jeonghan (Full Name: Yoon Jeonghan), 24Unit: Vocal Team
Joshua (Full Name: Hong Jisoo), 24Unit: Vocal Team
Jun (Full Name: Wen Junhui), 24Unit: Performance Team
Hoshi (Full Name: Kwon Soonyoung), 24Unit: Performance Team (Leader)
Wonwoo (Full Name: Jeon Wonwoo), 24Unit: Hip-hop Team
Woozi (Full Name: Lee Jihoon), 23Unit: Vocal Team (Leader)
DK (Full Name: Lee Seokmin), 23Unit: Vocal Team
Mingyu (Full Name: Kim Mingyu), 23Unit: Hip-hop Team
The8 (Full Name: Xu Minghao), 22Unit: Performance Team
Seungkwan (Full Name: Boo Seungkwan), 22Unit: Vocal Team
Vernon (Full Name: Hansol Vernon Chwe), 22Unit: Hip-hop team
Dino (Full Name: Lee Chan), 21Unit: Performance Team

How do I start listening to their music?

The title tracks by seventeen members are a good place to start because they cover a wide range of styles and moods. “Left & Right” is a dance-pop song with a simple, groovy hook that would be perfect for a TikTok challenge. The song also has melodies that make it more complicated. “Adore U” and “Very Nice” are seventeen classics, but they are more upbeat and youthful than later songs like “Don’t Wanna Cry” and “Thanks,” which are more introspective and emotional.

For ballads, try “Smile Flower,” which has all 13 members, or “Don’t Listen in Secret” and “Habit,” which are fan favorites. The dance practice videos for “Hit” and “Getting Closer” show the group pushing their bodies to the limit to perform hard-hitting songs with some of Seventeen’s most difficult choreography.

Also Read -   The Horrifying Incident Of Cat in Blender Video
Related articles
Join the discussion!