Underworld Movies: In Orders Vampires and Warewolfs

Underworld Movies: In Orders Vampires and Warewolfs

Written by Deepak Bhagat, In Entertainment, Published On
April 12, 2023

The Underworld movie is the only one where huge werewolves are fought by leather-clad vampires with BDSM whips, which is another way of saying that the Underworld series kicks complete ass. This modern-day Gothic epic came out in 2003. It is about a long-ago war between vampires and full-moon beasts called Lycans. Selene (Kate Beckinsale), a “Death Dealer” who has sworn to kill all werewolves, is caught in the middle.

Bill Nighy plays an old vampire who fights with his fists with a werewolf/vampire named Michael (Scott Speedman). But like any franchise with a lot of history and mythology, Underworld has flashbacks, prequels, and a general sense of grandeur that can make it hard to jump in. We had you. Here’s how to watch every Underworld movie in order of when it came out.

How Many Movies Feature The Underworld Franchise?

Five full-length underworld movies have been released thus far. Five live-action features and three animated shorts come together to form Underworld: Endless War, a short film that runs for only 18 minutes.

List of Underworld Films With Increasing Violence

In the first installment of this thrilling film series, a lethal death dealer named Selene swears a promise to exterminate all werewolves from the face of the earth. The Underworld film series consists of six installments. Each film in the series has a story that connects to the others. This guide will be an excellent resource if you want to learn more about each underworld movie in-depth. Also, you will be informed of the exact dates of each film’s initial theatrical release. Keep reading to learn everything of interest about the Underworld films.

  • Underworld (2003)
  • Underworld: Evolution (2006)
  • Underworld: Rise of the Lycans (2009)
  • Underworld: Endless War (2011)
  • Underworld: Awakening (2012)
  • Underworld: Blood Wars (2016)

Underworld: Rise of the Lycans (2009)

Although it is the third installment in the underworld movies, Underworld: Rise of the Lycans is a prequel to the original film. Instead of Kate Beckinsale, Michael Sheen plays Lucian, a lycan nurtured by the vampire elder Viktor (Bill Nighy), in Rise of the Lycans, set in 1402. Lucian must traverse the circumstances that led to the Vampire-Lycan War.

Underworld: Endless War – Part I (2011)

Throughout a century, Underworld: Endless War tells the origin tale of Selene, the elite vampire assassin and prominent protagonist of the Underworld franchise, also known as a Death Dealer. Laura Harris voices Selene in these animated cartoons published before Underworld: Awakening, even though Kate Beckinsale originated the part. In the first installment, set in 1890, Selene is on the trail of three Lycan brothers wreaking havoc in the city.

Underworld: Endless War – Part II (2011)

Part II of Endless Wars is set in 1967, about 80 years later, and it also takes place in Paris. In this new tale, Selene has returned to the metropolis to look into rumors concerning the whereabouts of the last two surviving Lycan brothers.

Underworld (2003)

Underworld, the first installment in the series, is set in London around 2003. Thanks to this film, audiences will learn about the underworld and the hidden past of vampires and lycans. Beckinsale’s Selene is a lycan-eradication expert whose world is turned upside down when the man she’s falling for, Michael (Scott Speedman), is bitten.

Underworld: Evolution (2006)

Selene and Michael find themselves in conflict with their clans in this first sequel that delves further into the history of vampires and lycans. The vampire patriarch Markus stands in the way of their attempts to heal the divide between their species (Tony Curran).

Underworld: Endless War – Part III (2011)

In the final installment of Underworld: Endless War, which takes place in 2012, Selene returns to Paris to kill Krandrill, the last of her lycan brothers. During this mission, she has Michael Corvin by her side.

Underworld: Awakening (2012)

Underworld: Awakening follows up shortly after the events of Underworld: Evolution when the government and the people have become aware of the presence of vampires and lycans. Many people worldwide are now actively looking for vampires because they want to learn more about them so they can use their power. Capturing Selene and putting her in cryogenic suspension for 12 years pushes the timeline to around 2015. After regaining consciousness, she realizes that vampires and lycans are almost extinct and sets out to flee to safety and locate Michael.

Underworld: Blood Wars (2017)

The latest installment, Underworld: Blood Wars, is set sometime after Awakening; however, the time has not yet been specified. Selene is being pursued by both the lycan clan and the vampire faction that betrayed her in this novel, and she sets out on a journey to end the age-old conflict between the two races.


Who are the stars of the Underworld films?

The story centers on Selene, a vampire warrior, and Michael Corvin, a human turned into a vampire.

Where did the idea for the Underworld movies come from?

As for your second question, the films in the Underworld franchise are not adapted from any source material. They are an entirely new idea in the world of cinema.

Explain the basic premise of the first Underworld film.

The first film in the underworld movies follows vampire warrior Selene as she learns a truth that could spell the downfall of the vampire and werewolf cultures. Around $460,000,000 was made worldwide by the franchise, making it a critical and financial success. Is your curiosity about the “Underworld” ready to be piqued? If so, here’s a rundown of all the Underworld movies available to stream.

Related articles
Join the discussion!