Cisco Certification Details-CCNA

Cisco Certification Details-CCNA

Written by Deepak Bhagat, In Education, Published On
November 15, 2022

What is CCNA certification?

CCNA (Cisco Certified Network Associate) is the entry certification of the Cisco after-sales engineer certification system and the lowest level of technical certification among all Cisco certifications; Pass CCNA, you can prove that you have mastered the basic knowledge of the network, and can initially install, configure and operate Cisco Routers, switches and simple LANs and WANs.

Detail About CCNA certification


The CCNA certification (Cisco Certified Network Associate) indicates that a certified person has basic technical and relevant knowledge of networking for the Small Office/Home Office (SOHO) market. Professionals certified by CCNA can install, configure and operate LAN, WAN, and dial-up access services in small networks (100 or fewer nodes). The protocols they can use include (but are not limited to) IP, IGRP, IPX, Serial, AppleTalk, Frame Relay, IP RIP, VLAN, RIP, Ethernet, and Access Lists. CCNA has changed from 640-407 to 640 -507 since its establishment.

It was changed again to 640-607 earlier this year. The purpose of the change, of course, is to adapt to the changing needs of the market and better examine the technical level of the certified personnel. Compared with the previous CCNA questions the latest CCNA exam has added simulated LAB questions. The CISCO official pointed out that this time only to change the test number, the knowledge point requirements of all exams are the same as 640-507, and the test site requirements of 640-607 were also announced on the CISCO official website, which is indeed the same as 640-507 in comparison. CISCO pointed out that the purpose of this move is to increase the difficulty of the exam in order to reduce the current high pass rate of CCNA.

The biggest change is to add a new type of question to the exam, namely Simulation, this type of question will require the examinee to actually enter the corresponding command on the simulated router control interface to complete a certain task according to the question requirements.


According to our research results on the 640-607 exam, it is indeed as CISCO said that the test site is still the same, no question is beyond the scope of the syllabus, the pass score is still 849, the exam time is 75 minutes, and there are a total of 50 questions. To add, the CISCO exam syllabus is the clearest among all the IT certification exam syllabuses we have seen, that is, each knowledge point requirement is pointed out to a very small range, unlike some other exam syllabuses that only point out a very general one. large range. At the same time, as CISCO said, there are two Performance based Simulation questions in the exam.

Fortunately, due to the limitation of the CCNA exam syllabus, these are only some superficial questions, which are roughly equivalent to selecting and filling in the blanks in 640-507. The questions are changed to the Simulation type, which basically does not constitute an increase in difficulty. Based on confidentiality factors, our website will not publish more detailed test details here. Generally speaking, the pass rate of the 640-607 exam is lower than that of the 640-507 exam, but considering the influence of some objective factors, the actual difficulty is basically the same.

It is worth mentioning that this change in question type actually had a harbinger before. Some time ago, test centers in VUE and SYLVAN were notified to upgrade the computer of the test workstation, which has great requirements on processor speed and memory size. The magnitude of the increase, and the driver software version of the test system is also required to be updated, all of which herald the introduction of a more computer-intensive test format.


The upgrade of the CISCO exam number does not actually affect the validity period of the obtained certificate, because according to the CISCO certification system, the CCNA certificate is valid for three years and has nothing to do with the exam, which is different from the certification system that Microsoft’s certificate is voided when the exam is voided.

You can check some 500-700 certificates here –¬†

Related articles
Join the discussion!